New Year, New Me… Really?

It’s New Year’s Eve in most of the places around the world. There are people excited about it and people stressing over how to spend this one evening of the year. I have heard people say how much they dislike Valentines day (especially if they’re single) and express their holiday fears during almost ALL the holidays that come around during the year. I am really not the kind of person who complains a lot. In fact I love partying; with family or friends. But here is the thing, I only like getting together around the holidays not other wise (who knows how much I’d complain if someone hosts a party otherwise) and may be that is the reason if not super excited but I’m generally very welcoming to any holidays, birthdays or anniversaries. But the question is, Why is it so important to celebrate the end of the year? Why do people stress about it so much? And why only make resolutions after wasting the whole year?

Personally, I have never “celebrated” new year’s eve. I did always make resolutions though which I couldn’t ever fulfill or I’d just lose the list by June/July. I don’t even remember many of the resolutions, although I can guess they must have included fixing my routine, exercising, spending more time with my family and studying a little harder. But one resolution I just remembered while working on my new list was “LEARN TO CONTROL YOUR ANGER“.

I’ve had anger management issues for as long as I can remember. I remember throwing tantrums as a kid, pulling my own hair in the morning before school because I’d be getting late and they wouldn’t get in my control (I have VERY silky hair), later I remember getting in fights at school with girls who would try to bully me (I don’t really know if that should be a good thing or a bad thing, but I do know I never let them victimize me) and then the only incident I remember after school was when I went back to my country for a vacation and my money got stolen. I still remember how angry I was. How I was practically shivering with anger as tears rolled down my cheeks and I kept saying that person will rot in hell (I know it sounds stupid but I was only 17). There was one thing in all these periods of extreme anger burst; I’d lose my ability to think ANYTHING and then just go sleep because I’d be so exhausted. It can be said that so much anger was affecting me physically.

(not my property)

(not my property)

Every new year’s eve I’d decide to control my anger and every morning on 1st January I’d get angry at something as silly as not finding the right shirt thereby giving up on this resolution by March after several unsuccessful attempts. But one thing I didn’t give up on was making this resolution every year. Last night when I was thinking about things I need to work on, I realized, I hadn’t been angry since a very long time now. Honestly I still do show anger like a normal person however I don’t turn into a gigantic angry green monster like Hulk, throwing things around and screaming out loud, any more. Therefore today, before I sit to analyze myself again, trying to pinpoint how damaged I am, I want to appreciate myself for this little achievement. It is an achievement I want to celebrate because anger is a terrible disease. Not only does it harm you and your ability to think but it also affects those around you, damaging your relationships.

So, how about this year we all do this? Before listing down all those things we hate in our self and want to change them or listing down those new exciting things/hobbies/activities you want to take up this year, let’s make a list of things we achieved. NOT just in the year that has just passed by but in ALL the years that have passed by. List the good things, pleasant memories, funny moments and anything you did that may have made someone else’s day. Once you have that list, then you’ll have a reason to celebrate the last night of this year and trust me, you won’t even stress out about making it perfect.

This year, I’ve decided to celebrate New Year’s Eve. Why? 2013 was probably one of the worst years of my life yet. My mother went through a major angina attack, my career shook down to it’s roots, there were so many financial issues to face and many more horrible sounding problems. But I want to celebrate it because I made it through. After all what happened, I still have a roof above my head, a potentially stable career in the future and MOST important of all, my mother is fine and we are all together. And not just am I thankful for that, I am also very proud of myself. I have come a long way and the best part is, after 2013 I know I can go a long way!

So what’s your achievement? Share one good memory, deed or achievement with me.

Have a wonderful year ahead.

By: Dr. AM

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

“Do not pray for an easy life, pray for the strength to endure a difficult one”

Bruce Lee

3 responses to “New Year, New Me… Really?

  1. This post made me smile. Sometimes we only tend to focus on the negative side of the life and forget about the blessings, when infact everything is just a test to learn something new from that could be useful in the future.

Share a thought!

