World Hijab Day

It was only this year, the year 2014  – I came across “World Hijab Day”  which was founded by a Bangladeshi American woman Nazma Khan on January 21st, 2013. At this day women from both Muslim and Non-Muslim community wears hijab to support the personal freedom to wear of one’s own choice and to raise awareness that the woman behind that scarf is no different from any other woman. Here is what she has to say about how and why she started this campaign,

So let’s start from the beginning, what is Hijab?

Although Hijab is certainly a personal decision for the sake of God, here is your answer to Why Hijab?

In my opinion as a Muslim myself, once you accept Hijab and make it a lifestyle it is then not just your personal decision but you also become an open representative of your religion which is a pretty huge responsibility. I am not a Hijabi, but I would want to be one day when I don’t feel like I am disrespecting my Hijab by any actions I do or I am not a source through which the world might interpret my religion in a way it is not meant to be.

And to my readers, all I have to say is that – Anyone can be born into a Muslim family or have an Islamic name but they are not necessarily a representative of the religion. Not every Muslim is a true Muslim (which they should be), just like not every Christian goes to Church every Sunday or every Hindu reads their scriptures everyday.

Islam is perfect but I am not. If I make a mistake, blame it on me, not on my religion..

For more download this brochure:  WorldHijabDayBrochure_PDF-2014

Or check out the official website of WORLD HIJAB DAY!

Share this, tweet this, put it up on facebook – SPREAD AWARENESS.

Take Care!

Dr. AM

Share a thought!

